Underage DUI

Published By: Alex Egner on March 22, 2022

Underage DUI in Pennsylvania

If you are under the age of 21 and arrested for a DUI in Pennsylvania, you are automatically charged under the State’s highest BAC tier, regardless of how much or little alcohol you consumed.

At the minimum, you will face at least two days or up to 6 months in jail, a fine of at least $500 (and as much as $5,000), and a suspended driver’s license for 12 months – unless you get into the ARD program.

If you are over 18, you are an adult and will be prosecuted in exactly the same manner as other adults, even if you are still in high school or college.

If you are under 18, your parents will be informed of your arrest and you will receive notification of a juvenile petition that will be processed in Juvenile Court.

In addition to hefty fines and jail time, other consequences you may face from an underage DUI:

  • Increased auto insurance premiums (or the possibility of being dropped by your provider)
  • Points on your driver’s license
  • Criminal offense listed on your permanent, public criminal record
  • Difficulty maintaining current employment
  • Difficulty finding future employment
  • International travel restrictions
  • Financial burden
  • Increased health insurance rates

For additional information Contact Us.

Information provided by Attorneys Alex Egner and Mark Walmer